"Jonah Koslen & Breathless 1978 - 1981" CD
DownloadOrder Listen

A Brief History of Breathless

Breathless, a band that many Clevelander's consider to be among the quintessential Cleveland rock groups, (along with Eric Carmen (Rasberries), Joe Walsh (James Gang) the Michael Stanley Band and others) had it's brief, productive, blaze of glory from 1978 to 1981.

During this time EMI-America Records released two acclaimed recordings, "Breathless" and "Nobody Leaves This Song Alive". The albums (containing such songs as "Takin' It Back", "Glued to the Radio", "Walk Right In", "Happy Endings", "My Heart's In Hiding", "Nothing's Gonna Change My MInd" among others) became local NE /Ohio hits and garnered an international cult following.

The greatest hits package, "Picture This" was released in 1993 by Razor and Tie

While the public was only privy to the officially released songs, and the new material performed live, behind the scenes there was an abundance of additional songs that never saw the light of day.

The band was
know to practice 5 days a week, working on new songs daily. Many of these were wonderful songs that the band really enjoyed performing. There was a distinct evolution of the Breathless sound and the material during it's life.

The first official line up of the band included Jonah Koslen (lead guitar and lead vocals), Rodney Psyka (percussion, additional keyboards and vocals), Kevin Valentine (drums), Bob Benjamin (bass and vocals) and Susan Lynch (keyboards and vocals).

When Susan Lynch left the band, she was replace by keyboardist, George Sipl and lead guitarist Alan Green.

Upon George Sipl's departure, the band found it's final member with Mark Avsec on keyboards and vocals.

This was a very talented, unique and high spirited musical ensemble. Breathless (a band that Clevelanders rank up there with such area rock legends as the Raspberries (Eric Carmen), the James Gang (Joe Walsh) and, of course, the Michael Stanley Band) released two acclaimed recordings on EMI-America Records, "Breathless" and "Nobody Leaves This Song Alive". The recordings contained such songs as "Walk Right In”, “Dead of the Night”, “Glued to the Radio”, "Wild Weekend”, and the national charting hit "Takin' It Back". A local Northeast Ohio favorite, the band toured nationally and garnered an international cult following. Razor and Tie Records released the greatest hits package, “Picture This,” in 1993. Also available on CD "Live In The Bubble" - 16 never before released Breathless tunes, raw and rocking.

Most recently, the compilation, "Jonah Koslen and Breathless, 1978 - 1981" has been released on Line Level Music.
ess was Jonah Koslen, Rodney Psyka, Alan Greene, Bob Benjamin, Mark Avsec and Kevin Valentine. You can   purchase the CD or to get the music now, download it here.

http://www.zengineer.net | © 2010 G. Jonah Koslen Music | jkoslen@me.com